Last chance to vote for the next musical theater star!



After watching 2,658 videos submitted by talent from across the country, the Playbill’s Search for a Star contest jury chose the top 10 finalists: Chris Bey, Nick Daly, Mia Hall, Mackenzie Johnson, Kevin Ludwig, Damon McToy, Ariel Murillo, Charlotte Odusanya, Mason Olshavsky and Veronica Otim.

Watch their videos below and vote for your favorite!

Voters can cast one vote per day and per IP address. The candidate with the most votes will be crowned Playbill’s Next Musical Theater Star. Vote must close August 27 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The Top 10 were selected by a panel of expert judges: Casting Directors Benton Whitley, Duncan Stewart and Sam Yabrow of Stewart / Whitley Casting (Hadestown, Chicago, The Great Comet), performer, director and choreographer winner of the Drama Desk Stephanie Klémons, who appeared on Broadway in In the heights, Bring it on, If so, and Hamilton; Co-writer and co-director nominated for Les Oliviers de SIX Lucy Moss; director Tamilla Woodard, currently Associate Director of Broadway’s Hadestown and recently appointed co-artistic director of Working Theater; director and choreographer JoAnn M. Hunter (Rock school, Disaster!); and Tony-winning choreographer Sergio trujillo (Is not too proud).

Judges rated the videos based on vocal excellence, performance skill set, storytelling abilities, self-authenticity, individual artistry, passion and originality.

The artist with the most votes will receive the grand prize, which includes a casting consultation with Stewart / Whitley, a one-on-one meeting with the Tony Award winner Susan stroman, a headshot package, a blog feature from Accepted, an appearance on Playbill Live !, tickets to Broadway when theaters reopen, and a The growth studio, the world’s largest acting studio committed to helping actors further their careers through low-cost workshops and classes with top industry professionals.

Additionally, these 10 finalists will each receive auditions with award-winning director Tony Des McAnuff, as well as judges JoAnn M Hunter, Tony award winner Stephanie Klemons, and Tamilla Woodard, for consideration for their upcoming individual projects. (Transportation / accommodation for in-person auditions is not included.) Top 10 congratulations!

Watch all 10 videos, then scroll down to the poll at the bottom to vote for the day. (Videos are listed alphabetically by last name with last name above the corresponding video.)

Chris Bey:

Nick Daly:

Mia Hall:

Mackenzie Johnson:

Kevin Ludwig:

Damon McToy:

Ariel Murillo:

Charlotte Odusanya:

Mason Olshavsky:

Véronique Otim:

For more details on the competition Click here. Click to watch more highlights from Week 1, Week 2, Week 3, and Week 4.

Search for a Star by Playbill is brought to you by Geico. There has never been a better time to switch to GEICO. Save an additional 15% when you change by October 7. Restrictions apply. Visit for details. GEICO now offers an additional 15% credit on auto and motorcycle policies. That’s 15% more than what GEICO could already save you!



Comments are closed.