10th Annual DSM High School Musical Theater Awards Announces Production Team and Fullinwider Award Winner



Dallas Summer Musicals has announced that the production team for the 10th Annual DSM High School Musical Theater Awards (HSMTA) will include Joel Ferrell as director / choreographer, Cherish Love Robinson as Music Director and Eric Lee Tysinger as production supervisor.

Liz mikel was named the recipient of the 2021 Fullinwider Award in honor of her impact on the North Texas theater community. The awards ceremony will be presented as a virtual livestream on DSM’s YouTube page on June 11, 2021.

Ferrell is a veteran director and choreographer based in Dallas, Texas. He is the former associate artistic director of Dallas Theater Center and has directed and choreographed extensively across the country for the Denver Center Theater, Portland Center Stage, North Shore Music Theater, and more. His acting credits include nationwide tours on Broadway, regional theater, television and film.

Robinson is an award-winning theater and music industry veteran with a career spanning the past two decades as an artist, producer, composer, music director and songwriter. She has produced and arranged the vocals for artists across the country including Elle King, The Texas Gentlemen and Paul Cauthen, and television shows such as Big Little Lies and Grey’s Anatomy.

Tysinger has spent the past 19 years managing stage and production in all facets of the performing arts. He held the position of production manager for The Dallas Theater Center (Regional Theater Tony Award 2016) for six years and for Triad Stage for two years. Tysinger’s credits include The Last Ship on Broadway and the Hamilton Nationwide Tour.

Dallas native and Broadway veteran Liz mikel will receive the 2021 Fullinwider Award in honor of his accomplishments within the theater community of North Texas and beyond. Mikel is a multi-faceted and award-winning artist who has been a fixture on the Dallas-Fort Worth art scene for over 30 years. She has moved from stage to television, through studio recordings, cabaret and feature films, toured nationally and internationally, and worked alongside some of the industry’s most prominent artists.

The Fullinwider Award is presented to artists from the North Texas community who have had a significant impact on local, regional and national theater communities. The award is named after Leah and Jerry Fullinwider, founding donors of the DSM High School Musical Theater Awards. The award was created to honor the Fullinwiders for their initial donation of $ 100,000, which helped fund and produce DSM HSMTA and the College Scholarship Program in 2012.

The awards ceremony, which traditionally takes place at Music Hall in Fair Park, will be featured as a production broadcast live on DSM’s YouTube page. All awards will be announced live and the evening will feature captivating live performances and acceptance speeches by this year’s nominees and winners.

Inspired by the Broadway Tony Awards, the DSM HSMTA celebrates the power of the arts and its ability to dramatically improve all areas of education. The annual DSM HSMTA recognizes the artistic and educational achievements of North Texas students and their high school programs. A total of 41 performances from 39 participating high schools were evaluated by a diverse group of highly skilled judges from the North Texas theater community.

Prizes will be awarded in 15 categories and scholarships are awarded to outstanding graduates who are nominated by their teachers and selected by the DSM scholarship jury. With funds raised through private donations, DSM HSMTA will award $ 55,000 in cash scholarships to continue to promote the great talent that North Texas has to offer. To date, the DSM HSMTA University Scholarship Program has awarded over $ 350,000 in cash scholarships to deserving students.



Leave A Reply